The origins of the parish of il-Gudja date back to 1436 when bishop Senatore de Mello declared Bir Miftuħ a parish church. The chapel of Bir Miftuħ (literally translated would eman an open well), on the outskirts of il-Gudja, still bears witness to the birth of this beautiful southern village in Malta. Down the ages, at least seven other villages grew out of il-Gudja earning the village the Latin title of ‘Pluribus Parens’ meaning mother of many Children.
The parish church dominates the village of il-Gudja. Ready in 1666, the church was built on a plan designed by Architect Thomas Dingli. Later on, in 1858 a belfry was added to its designed by William Baker. A new façade with two other Baroque belfries was constructed in the beginning of this century thus making the church of il-Gudja a unique gem in Maltese architecture.